top of page

Research Topic Proposal


For my topic, I have chosen to research and write about Tumblr fandoms. More specifically, those who focus on TV shows and writing about different “theories.” These blogs write and discuss what’s going on in the shows, and theorize future plots, storylines, character developments, relationships, etc. based on what they see on happen on the show. For example I would focus more on the show Girl Meets World because there are a lot of callbacks and storylines relating to the original Boy Meets World show, and I know of many blogs that use it and different things like color scheming, prop placements, and other symbolism to create their theories. I don’t really know what my research question will be yet, but I plan to do my research on both Tumblr and academic sources to find out more about Social Media and how it and blogs relate to TV shows and different works of entertainment. I can also use my research to discuss social media as a growing platform for people and fandoms to get their work out there and their voices and opinions heard. I chose this topic because although I don’t run a theory blog or actively follow and participate in this fandom community, I find it incredibly fascinating that these people take such a simple Disney Channel 20 minute episode show, and use all kinds of different knowledge and sources to look more closely into the show and what kind of hidden messages it is portraying.


About This Site.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

Hello this is my working portfolio for my ENC2135 class at Florida State University.  I hope you enjoy :)

bottom of page